18 February, 2013

Death Wolf: II: Black Armoured Death – new album


Swedish blackened punks, DEATH WOLF, have a brand new album out; ‘II: Black Armoured Death’ was released through Century Media Records in Europe today, February 18th, 2013, and will see its North American release tomorrow, February 19th, 2013. In a true blackened-punk-rock fashion, the band has not revealed much about their latest opus magnum, leaving room for speculations: do they still sound like black metal guys who like Glenn Danzig or do they offer their fans a more varied collection of tracks (ranging from the darker DANZIG material, to the brutal, focused attack of early punk-hardcore bands such as ILL REPUTE to the blackened crust witchery of AMEBIX to the dark, textured black metal mastery of NACHTMYSTIUM, to the crushing doom aesthetics of CELTIC FROST and TRIPTYKON)? To find out, order the album from here (Century Media store). But first, listen to the ‘II: Black Armoured Death’s opening track ‘Noche De Brujas’ via YouTube embed and to ‘World Serpent’ you’ll find below, and visit Pitchfork here to march merrily into darkness with ‘Death Wolf March’. Because:
“No matter what your dark poison, DEATH WOLF has got you covered.”

Well, blame it on MARDUK's Morgan Håkansson (Morgan “Evil” Steinmeyer Håkansson) who founded a MISFITS and SAMHAIN cover band called “Devils Whorehouse” in 2000 in Norrköping, Sweden. The tribute band released two albums (2003's ‘Revelation Unorthodox’ and 2009's ‘Blood & Ashes’) and two EPs, ‘Howling’ in 2000 and ‘Werewolf’ in 2008, before becoming aware that the “philosophy behind the orchestra has outgrown its name”:
“The hour of the wolf had come - DEATH WOLF was born.”
In 2011, DEATH WOLF (who have chosen such a name in order to emphasize “the strength, dedication and will shown in their creations”) released their (“much lauded”) self-titled debut album on Regain Records and accompanied it with a video for ‘Iron Wood’ shown here (YouTube).After signing to Century Media, DEATH WOLF released the ‘Bloodscent’ 7” EP in 2012, containing two album songs with a different mix and vocal arrangement. 

DEATH WOLF features: Maelstrom – vocals, Morgan – bass, Makko – guitar and Hrafn – drums

No comments:

Post a Comment