29 January, 2013

Avatar: Smells Like A Freakshow – new video



Sweden's AVATAR and video director Johan Carlén teamed up once again to present us with the visuals for ‘Smells Like A Freakshow’, off AVATAR's January/February 2012-released album ‘Black Waltz’, issued on Gain/eOne Music:

“The video illustrates inner conflict in an explicit manner, using abuse of unjust power in different contexts. The lyrical themes of downfall, embracing of decadence and failed attempts to escape are pointed out by the fact that ultimately the bad guys win,” [the band revealed their cheerful vision of the world to Loudwire, where the video was first shown]

‘Black Waltz’ was produced by Swedish Grammy award winning producer Tobias Lindell, while the album's artwork was created by Caroline Falk. Order your own copy of ‘Black Waltz’ here:

“Regardless of how one wishes to classify them now, their new album is one interesting metal piece well worth anyone's time,” [wrote Magnus Altkula, Sputnik Music] “Welding hard rock and minor electronic influences to their melodeath base has proven to be a great idea and ‘Black Waltz’ is most definitely the band's most exciting release to date. Smoothly transitioning from rockin' guitar riffs to more death metal orientated sections, all the while keeping an undercurrent of melody and maintaining a degree of technicality, ‘Black Waltz’ contains something for everyone,” [read the rest of his review here]


Formed in 2001 in Göteborg, Sweden, by drummer John Alfredsen and guitarist Jonas Jarlsby, AVATAR released their debut album, ‘Thoughts Of No Tomorrow’, in 2006; the album entered the Swedish Metal Album chart at position number 3. 2007's second full-length, ‘Schlacht’, took AVATAR on Scandinavian tour with fellow Gothenburg residents IN FLAMES. Since then they have supported MEGADETH, IMPALED NAZARENE, EVERGREY and STONE SOUR on their European tours. AVATAR's self-titled third album, released in 2009, entered the Swedish Album Chart at number 36. 

AVATAR features: Johannes Eckerström – vocals, John Alfredsson – drums, Jonas Jarlsby – guitar, Tim Ohrstrom – guitar and Henrik Sandelin – bass  

P.S. Even though precious few ever bother to read anything written here, I sincerely apologize to AVATAR for letting their new video to “smell like a freakhow” for who knows how many hours.




No comments:

Post a Comment