01 February, 2012

Landmine Marathon: Beaten And Left Behind – new video



‘Beaten And Left Behind’ comes from LANDMINE MARATHON's most recent album ‘Gallows’, released in September 2011 in North America and finally out across Europe this week. The video was directed by Raul Varela. ‘Gallows’ was recorded by LANDMINE MARATHON guitarist Ryan Butler at Arcane Digital Recording Studio and mastered by Dave Shirk at Sonorous Mastering. It features the debut of the band's new drummer Andy York. The ‘Gallows’ cover art was created by UK artist and DEVIATED INSTINCT guitarist Rob “Mid” Middleton, known for his artwork for NAPALM DEATH, EXTREME NOISE TERROR and others. Listen to another new track, ‘Cutting Flesh And Bone’, below, and buy LANDMINE MARATHON stuff here (Prosthetic Records):

LANDMINE MARATHON: Cutting Flesh And Bone


Formed in 2004 in Phoenix, Arizona, LANDMINE MARATHON released their first demo of grindcore/death metal/hardcore/thrash in 2005, followed by debut full-length, ‘Wounded’, in 2006 (Level Plane Records). Their second album, ‘Rusted Eyes Awake’, came out in 2008 and was re-released a year later by Prosthetic Records:

“For their second long-player, the group seemingly sought to explore the very moment when thrash became death, given the improbable velocity with which they attack corrosive headbangers like ‘Certain Death’, ‘Bled To Death’ and ‘Heroin Swine’ - to the point that one wonders whether such near-blastbeat velocity would have even been achievable some 30 years earlier. Others, like the two-faced ‘Xenocide’, alternate a crawling first-half grind with a more typical flurry in its second half, all topped with words condemning American insularity (we think) with stellar results, and several more also indulge in the blood & guts lyrics typical of many genre-defining death metal bands. Finally worth mentioning is that LANDMINE MARATHON's vocal Armageddon is carried out by a charming young lady by the name of Grace Perry, whose crust-layered grunts and vicious shrieks leave nothing to be desired when compared to the boys' club that dominates the scene,” [expressed himself cleverly Eduardo Rivadavia, Allmusic – more here]

2010's “scorched, desolate and angry as hell” third album and LANDMINE MARATHON's debut on Prosthetic Records, ‘Sovereign Descent’, was recorded at guitarist Ryan Butler's Arcane Digital Recording Studios, mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music and has featured the artwork by acclaimed artist Dan Seagrave:

“Even at 40 minutes, it’s punishing and something of an endurance test. Those who like their metal relentless and punky will find much to bang their heads to, though,” [added Phil Freeman, Allmusic – more here]

LANDMINE MARATHON features: Grace Perry – vocals, Dylan Thomas – guitar, Ryan Butler – guitar, Matt Martinez – bass and vocals and Andy York - drums


No comments:

Post a Comment