31 January, 2014

SOiL: Loaded Gun – new video

‘Loaded Gun’ comes off SOiL's sixth album ‘Whole’, issued in August 2013 on AFM Records/Pavement/Relativity, which has peaked at number 141 on the Billboard Top 200 chart (and at number 10 on the Billboard's Hard Rock Albums chart). Produced by Ulrich Wild, ‘Whole’ is the first album founders guitarist Adam Zadel and bassist Tim King recorded with the original singer Ryan McCombs (formerly of DROWNING POOL) since 2004's album ‘re.de.fine’. The drums was recorded/contributed by Will Hunt (of EVANESCENCE fame), while the words were written by Ryan McCombs, as is his habit (“Those that are familiar with the work I’ve done are going to get the next chapter that they would expect. Words from a heart and mind that has lived them. One of the greatest things I experience as a lyricist is when people come up and share with me how a song, or a specific verse or line from a song, got them through a hard time or times in their lives. It reminds me of the times music did that for me an how powerful music and/or a lyric can be in a person's life.”). Whole’ features a guest solo on the ‘Wake Up’ track, performed by the band's longtime friend STAIND's Mike Mushok. The album is available at the band's store here, through Amazon, on iTunes, as well as at AFM MP3 store here:
:Bolstered by a handful of hard-hitting and engaging singles like ‘Shine On’, ‘Loaded Gun’, ‘Way Gone’, and ‘The Hate Song’, all four of which utilize the radio-ready, post-grunge power of 2009's ‘Picture Perfect’ [SOiL's fifth LP] while invoking the decibel-crushing might of 2001's ‘Scars’, ‘Whole’ provides a sonic bridge between the two eras, yet retains a foundation of pure muscle and mayhem,” [approved James Christopher Monger, AllMusic – more here]

Formed in 1997 in Chicago, USA by former death metal enthusiasts drummer Tom Schofield, bassist Tim King and guitarists Adam Zadel and Shaun Glass, SOiL's first recordings, all featuring vocalist McCombs, failed to make an impression until they were noticed by Rock And Roll Hall Of Famer producer Clive Davis, founder of J Records. Produced by Johnny K, SOiL's second full-length, 2001's ‘Scars’, entered both the Billboard Top 200 and the UK Albums Chart and was described as “an album that embraces the rambunctious spirit of rock & roll and allows it to overwhelm the listener” by Jason D. Taylor, AllMusic (more here). ‘Scars’ went on to sell over one million copies worldwide. The band had parted ways with vocalist McCombs despite (or because of) him possessing a “rock star quality oozing from his every pore” after their third LP, 2004's ‘re.de.fine’, which peaked at number 78 on Billboard Top 200. He was replaced with vocalist AJ Cavalier with whom SOiL put forth the albums ‘True Self’ in 2006 and ‘Picture Perfect’ in 2009. 
SOiL features: Ryan McCombs – vocals, Adam Zadel – guitar and Tim King – bass 


No comments:

Post a Comment