27 April, 2013

Soilwork: Spectrum Of Eternity – new video

SOILWORK's new video, ‘Spectrum Of Eternity’, was created by Stanimir Lukic; the song comes off the band's first double album, ‘The Living Infinite’, issued in March 2013 on Nuclear Blast Records. Featuring new guitarist David Andersson who replaced co-founder Peter Wichers, ‘The Living Infinite’, was produced by Jens Bogren and showcases artwork created by Mircea Gabriel Eftemie (of MNEMIC fame), as well as guest vocalist Justin Sullivan (NEW MODEL ARMY) on the track ‘The Windswept Mercy’. ‘The Living Infinite’ nearly conquered SOILWORK's home country, Sweden, Rock Chart at number 2, peaked on UK Rock Chart at number 9, on Finland Albums Chart at number 10, on Germany Albums Chart at number 17, on Sweden and Switzerland Albums Chart at number 19 and, finally, debuted at position number 60 on The Billboard Top 200 chart, selling around 7,800 copies in the United States in its first week of release. Among four new singles given out by SOILWORK prior to the album's release, all of which are available below, you will also find previously released video ‘Rise Above The Sentiment’, directed by Sune Eskelinen. Order ‘The Living Infinite’ here (SOILWORK store), find it on iTunes, Amazon or Amazon MP3:
“While ‘The Living Infinite’ is certainly a whole lot of record, it’s filled with enough vigor and creativity that it doesn’t feel as though it’s dragging along, and though fans might be disappointed to see Wichers [Peter, guitarist] leave the band yet again, it’s clear that SOILWORK seem to be getting along just fine without him,” [commented Gregory Heaney, AllMusic – read more here]

Formed in late 1995 in Helsingborg, Sweden by vocalist Björn Strid and guitarist Peter Wichers, SOILWORK softened their death metal when they abandoned their original name, “Inferior Breed”. Through Listenable Records the band, featuring guitarist Ludvig Svartz, keyboardist Carlos Del Olmo Holmberg, bassist Ola Flink and drummer Jimmy Persson alongside Strid and Wichers, released SOILWORK's debut album, ‘Steelbath Suicide’, in 1998, which AllMusic's Vincent Jeffries described as “one of, if not the most impressive Swedish metal debut” (more here). Their critically acclaimed second album, 2000's ‘The Chainheart Machine’, landed SOILWORK a recording contract with Nuclear Blast Records which resulted in the band's, arguably, most popular album, 2001's ‘A Predator's Portrait’:
“Each song flows with a compositional sleight of hand, sounding thick and complex, but without any great exertion from the band. The album simply makes sense, like a natural flow of the band's conscience, with its dense, '80s thrash-driven guitars, tighter than thou rhythm section, and split vocal approach,” [commented Jason Hundey, AllMusic – more here]
2002's ‘Natural Born Chaos’ took SOILWORK on their first U.S. tour. The album was also the first recorded with keyboardist Sven Karlsson. Continuing on the melodic path, SOILWORK issued their fifth full-length, ‘Figure Number Five’, in 2003. After touring Europe, Japan and Australia, the band recorded 2005's ‘Stabbing The Drama’:
“Extreme enough to convince some of the genre's more suspicious fans of their authenticity to the cause, they’ve also excelled at flirting with its more mainstream sensibilities, and, like every release before it, 2005's ‘Stabbing The Drama’ is no different. Like a hyper-efficient assembly line, its songs connect components of the band's hometown melodic death metal to elements of neo-thrash velocity, to metalcore's innate simplicity, to even - gasp! - sketchy nu-metal devices in order to construct a well-lubricated driving machine that’s ever compact and economical,” [wrote Eduardo Rivadavia, AllMusic – more here]
SOILWORK's first commercial success came with 2007's ‘Sworn To A Great Divide’. Selling approximately 5,000 copies in its first week of release in the United Stated and charting at number 19 on Finnish Albums Chart, at number 25 on Swedish Albums Chart and at number 148 on the Billboard Top 200, the record featured guitarist Daniel Antonsson instead of Peter Wichers who left the group in 2005:
“There is absolutely nothing to complain about on ‘Sworn To A Great Divide’ - the melodic hardcore/death metal hybrid is ever-present and as a singer, Björn Strid has never sounded better. When he sings, he really sings; when he growls, he gets downright ugly,” [commented Thom Jurek, AllMusic – more here]
2010's ‘The Panic Broadcast’ marked the return of SOILWORK's co-founder Peter Wichers, who produced the album as well, and introduced new rhythm guitarist Sylvain Coudret. The album sold over 5,250 copies in its first week in the USA where it debuted at number 88 on the Billboard Top 200 chart, thusly becoming the highest charting album in SOILWORK's career.  

SOILWORK features: Bjorn “Speed” Strid – vocals, Sven Karlsson – keyboards, Sylvain Coudret – guitar, David Andersson – guitar, Dirk Verbeuren – drums and Ola Flink – bass


No comments:

Post a Comment