24 September, 2012

Witchcraft: Legend – new album



Swedish classic rockers', WITCHCRAFT, new album ‘Legend’ is already out in Europe and is about to be set loose in North America on September 25th, 2012 through Nuclear Blast Records. Visit the band's official site here to listen to song samples and to purchase the album via Nuclear Blast and do keep in mind Amazon and iTunes options. The are also two brand new WITCHCRAFT songs available to you below, courtesy the label. ‘Legend’ was produced by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios.

“WITCHCRAFT and brother Magnus have been making beautiful throwback, '60-'70's-style tunes for nearly a decade now, and I support their enthusiasm 100%. Not many bands have actually created something new out of something old the way these musicians have,” [commented DOWN's Philip Anselmo:]

WITCHCRAFT: It's Not Because Of You – courtesy of Nuclear Blast Records

WITCHCRAFT: Ghosts House – courtesy of Nuclear Blast Records


Started in 2000 by vocalist and guitarist Magnus Pelander with a noble intent to record a single in tribute to PENTAGRAM's Bobby Liebling and Roky Erickson, WITCHCRAFT issued ‘No Angel Or Demon’ single through Primitive Arts Records in 2002 and proceeded to record the band's eponymous full-length, released on Rise Above Records two years later. Described as “eerily authentic” and “a special treat to behold” by AllMusic's Eduardo Rivadavia (more here), WITCHCRAFT continued their enthusiastic tribute to music written before its members were even born with 2005's ‘Firewood’ and 2007's ‘The Alchemist’, issued through Rise Above, Candlelight Records and Leaf Hound Records:

“Magnus Pelander's vocal delivery is an awful lot like PENTAGRAM's Bobby Liebling, while the music would provide a fine soundtrack to a high school stoner's basement party - when the folks were out of town, the bong smoke was thick, and the black light posters were proudly on display,” [described 2007's recording Greg Prato, AllMusic – more here]

WITCHCRAFT features: Magnus Pelander – vocals, Simon Solomon – guitar, Tom Jondelius – guitar, Oscar Johansson – drums and Ola Henriksson – bass


No comments:

Post a Comment