23 July, 2012

Slipknot: Antennas To Hell – new compilation album


“We’re banded together in hate,” [explained candidly SLIPKNOT's Joey Jordison] “Sometimes we hate each other, sometimes we hate the world. Sometimes we just hate our own lives. But when we get together, something monstrous happens and we pull this amazing sound out of all that energy. Plus, we believe in world domination. And this is the band that’s going to get us there.” [Added the label, Roadrunner Records:] “Always imitated, never duplicated, there is only one SLIPKNOT. And they’re peerless.”

So, to celebrate 17 years of excellence, SLIPKNOT came up with new compilation album titled ‘Antennas To Hell’, comprised of tracks from across SLIPKNOT's four studio albums as well as remixes and live cuts, packages notes on their career, a DVD of a live show at 2009's Download Festival and a series of video montages (take a peek below). ‘Antennas To Hell’ is out now in the U.K. and will be released tomorrow, July 24th, 2012, in the U.S. on Roadrunner Records.

“Greatest Hits [albums] means one of three things to me,” [told Spin.com Mr. Shawn M. Crahan, also known as Clown]  “Either the band is breaking up, they’re trying to get off their record company, or they’ve become some pathetic infomercial at two in the morning and their label is sucking them dry while a couple of “rock star” actors try to sell their shit when they should be jamming,” [‘Antennas To Hell’ being one of those greatest hits albums, rush over to Spin and read the rest here]

SLIPKNOT: Live at Download Festival 2009 – courtesy of Roadrunner USA


Formed in 1995 in Des Moines, Iowa, SLIPKNOT have thus far released four studio albums, four video albums and two compilations. Globally, the band has notched 11 Platinum albums and 38 Gold albums, as well as some multi-Platinum releases across albums and DVD releases. SLIPKNOT's most recent studio album, 2008's ‘All Hope Is Gone’, debuted at number 1 on Billboard's Top 200 chart, an achievement they have matched in Europe (European Top 100 Albums), Canada (Canadian Albums Charts), Australia (Australian Albums Charts) and New Zealand (New Zealand Albums Chart). The band has been nominated for a Grammy seven times and has won once (‘Before I Forget’). In 2010, SLIPKNOT's founding member bassist Paul Gray (#2) died, age 38.

SLIPKNOT: Iowa (featured tracks) – courtesy of Roadrunner USA

SLIPKNOT: 9.0 Live (featured tracks) – courtesy of Roadrunner USA

SLIPKNOT features: Corey Taylor (#8) – vocals, Mick Thomson (#7) - guitar, Sid Wilson (#0) - DJ, Shawn M. Crahan (#6) –percussions, Joey Jordison (#1) - drums, Chris Fehn (#3) – percussions, Jim Root (#4) – guitar,  Craig Jones (#5) – samples










No comments:

Post a Comment