16 June, 2013

Djevel: Besatt Av Maane Og Natt – new album



DJEVEL, starring bandmembers of NETTLECARRIER, KVELERTAK and KOLDBRANN, have a new album out; available digitally on iTtunes, Amazon, Spotify, Deezer and eMusic since June 3rd, 2013, ‘Besatt Av Maane Og Natt’ has become obtainable in its physical form (as vinyl and as CD) on June 14th, 2013 via Aftermath Music. “True believers” should therefore shop here (Aftermath store). Featuring founder and guitarist, songwriter and lyricist T. Ciekals (ex-LJÅ), vocalist Erlend Hjelvik, drummer Dirge Rep and bassist Mannevond, DJEVEL recorded their second LP this past winter at Caliban Studios in Oslo, Norway. ‘Besatt Av Maane Og Natt’s (Norwegian for being obsessed by the moon and night – see picture) cover art was created by T. Ciekals and Truls Espedal:

“ ‘Besatt Av Maane Og Natt’ is a triumph of an album – it is as ambitious as it is nostalgic. Without a doubt, I would recommend this album to anyone even slightly interested in natural, Norwegian black metal,” [commented CVLT Nation's reviewer – more here]

“ ‘Besatt Av Maane Og Natt’ is 45 minutes of sheer brilliance. The darkness is ever present on all eight of the eerily haunting and hypnotizing tracks summoned here. The intensity, and at times very fast paced riffs, threatens to subdue and take over the listener completely,” [added Norskmetal reviewer who calls himself VempireChrist and for that alone we shall trust in him – more here]


Formed in 2009 by T. Ciekals in Oslo, Norway, DJEVEL (you’ve guessed it - it’s Norwegian for dybbuk) was initially a one-man project. Slowly but surely growing into a band, DJEVEL, made up of grim vocalist Erlend Hjelvik, aggressive drummer Dirge Rep - while Mannevond just plays bass, released their debut album, ‘Dødssanger’, in 2012 through Aftermath Music, followed by a very limited 7” vinyl single called ‘Besatt Av Maane Og Natt’.

DJEVEL features: T. Ciekals – guitar, Erlend Hjelvik – vocals, Dirge Rep – drums and Mannevond – bass



No comments:

Post a Comment