24 June, 2013

Autopsy: The Headless Ritual – new album


‘The Headless Ritual’, AUTOPSY's latest relentless monster of violent and brutal death metal mastery,  is being delivered to Europe today, June 24th, 2013, via Peaceville Records. AUTOPSY's unmistakable chaotic riffing, insane solos and doom-filled interludes, all served with the band's unhinged brand of vocal sickness, will become available in North America on June 2nd - yet, all available formats already await your order here (Peaceville store). Recorded and mixed at Fantasy Studios in California with Adam Munoz, and featuring artwork by renowned artist Joe Petagno, listen to AUTOPSY's new tune, ‘Arch Cadaver’ below, and visit Pitchfork here for ‘Mangled Far Below’. AUTOPSY confirm our expectations:
“Expect nothing less than the monstrous brutality that AUTOPSY has been known to offer. Laurels will not be rested upon, trends will not be followed and mercy will not be shown. Mark your calendars for June and pick out a coffin to lie down and die in. Darkness and death await.....”

AUTOPSY was formed in 1987 by former DEATH drummer Chris Reifert in San Francisco, USA. After recording a couple of demos, ‘Demo '87’ and 1988's ‘Critical Madness’, Chris Reifert (drums & vocals), Danny Coralles (guitar) and Eric Cutler (guitar), along with Steve DiGiorgio (bass), signed with Peaceville Records. AUTOPSY's first full-length, 1989's ‘Severed Survival’, is considered to be of high influence for future death metal bands such as ENTOMBED and DISMEMBER. Steve Cutler took over bass in 1991, the year in which AUTOPSY issued two EPs, ‘Fiend For Blood’ and ‘Retribution For The Dead’, as well as a full-length entitled ‘Mental Funeral’. Their punk-inspired third album, 1992's ‘Acts Of The Unspeakable’, featured new bassist Josh Barohn, and 1995's ‘ Shitfun’, AUTOPSY's last album before their fourteen-year breakup, found Freeway Migliore on four-strings. After years of feeling underrated, AUTOPSY returned triumphant in 2010 with the EP ‘The Tomb Within’. One of the biggest and most respected names in the genre's history released the long-awaited (16-years-long awaited) studio album ‘Macabre Eternal’ in 2011. The effort, released via Peaceville Records,  was recorded in Fantasy Studios with Adam Munoz by the original AUTOPSY trio of drummer and vocalist Chris Reifert, guitarists Danny Coralles and Eric Cutler joined by Joe Trevisano (ABSCESS) on bass:
“ ‘Macabre Eternal’ is more ambitious [then its predecessor 2010's EP ‘The Tomb Within’] - 12 songs in 65 minutes, including the inexplicably drawn-out, 11-minute epic ‘Sadistic Gratification’ - and more musically complex than the EP, but it’s still AUTOPSY; they haven’t become progressive death metal or anything,” [was relieved Phil Freeman, AllMusic] “Song titles like ‘Always About To Die’, ‘Dirty Gore Whore’, and ‘Seeds Of The Doomed’ reveal their not-so-hidden intentions, which are to make listeners' heads bang and, somewhat more surprisingly, to inspire wild fits of air guitar. There are riffs on this record that have a catchiness extreme metal hasn’t exhibited in decades, and the solos squeal with an untamable and infectious energy. Death metal used to be fun, and the members of AUTOPSY remember,” [more here]

‘All Tomorrow's Funerals’ containing four new studio tracks recorded in late 2011 plus all of AUTOPSY's past EPs and rarities, re-mastered by the band themselves, followed shortly thereafter

AUTOPSY features: Joe Trevisano – bass, Chris Reifert – drums and vocals,  Danny Coralles - guitar and Eric Cutler – guitar and vocals

No comments:

Post a Comment