17 June, 2013

Shinedown: I'll Follow You – new video



They are one of this household's favourites ever since WWE championed their tunes (in 2008) – so just bear with me this morning. ‘I’ll Follow You’ comes from SHINEDOWN's fourth full-length ‘Amaryllis’, released in March 2012 on Roadrunner Records and Atlantic Records. ‘Amaryllis’ conquered American Alternative Albums Chart, Hard Rock Albums Chart, Rock Albums Chart, and peaked at number 4 on the U.S. Billboard Top 200. In Canada, ‘Amaryllis’ peaked at number 7, in UK at number 18, in Switzerland at number 28 and in Germany at number 36. SHINEDOWN's long in-the-making album was recorded at Lightning Sound Studios, Ocean Way Recording and Capitol Studios and produced by Grammy-winning Rob Cavallo, who also produced the band's previous album, 2008's ‘The Sound Of Madness’. The group has previously released videos for the singles ‘Bully’, ‘Unity’ and ‘Enemies’ which await you below the text. Shop SHINEDOWN here (the band's EU boutique) or here (the band's American store) or on iTunes:

[Singer Brent Smith told Noisecreep:] “I never want people to be able to put their thumb on this band. I never want anyone to know what we’re going to do musically. I want them to be shocked. I want them to think, “They did it again. They surprised me.” We like that. We like to challenge our audience,” [declared SHINEDOWN frontman Brent Smith] “It’s not a record for the faint of heart,” [he added] “Every single song makes a statement. I was looking for the kind of emotion that made every hair on the back of my neck stand on end. Because of that, I feel in my heart and soul that this album is a game changer for our band.”

“With a trend toward the uplifting, SHINEDOWN push their sound in an increasingly positive direction on their fourth album, ‘Amaryllis’. While the album still has the driving, hard rock backbone that the band has been building their post-grunge sound upon for years, there’s something more anthemic about this effort, as if every song is an attempt to rouse listeners out of their seats, and to that end, it's largely successful,” [commented Gregory Heaney, AllMusic – more here]


SHINEDOWN was formed 2002 in Jacksonville, Florida by vocalist Brent Smith, guitarist Jasin Todd, bassist Brad Stewart and drummer Barry Kerch. The group released their debut album, ‘Leave A Whisper’, in 2003 through Atlantic Records; the album, which was eventually certified Platinum, took SHINEDOWN on a grueling tour of 400 shows played. Their second full-length, 2005's ‘Us And Them’, entered the American Billboard Top 200 at number 23 and was certified Gold in the United States. SHINEDOWN's third album, 2008's Platinum-selling ‘The Sound Of Madness’, debuted at number 8 on Billboard's Top 200 and remained on the chart for 120 consecutive weeks.

Do visit Atlantic Records' SoundCloud here for plenty more SHINEDOWN music.

SHINEDOWN features: Brent Smith – vocals, Zach Myers – guitar, Barry Kerch – drums and Eric Bass – bass






No comments:

Post a Comment