06 July, 2013

The Dillinger Escape Plan: One Of Us Is The Killer – new video & full album stream

No matter how much time I invest in this hobby of mine, I always miss something - and you have to admit the month of June was quite a ride; ‘One Of Us Is The Killer’ is the title track for THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN's new album, issued in May 2013 on the fiercely independent band's own Party Smasher Inc. imprint (in partnership with BMG) and Sumerian Records. ‘One Of Us Is The Killer’ was recorded in Southern California, USA with longtime producer Steve Evetts, and mastered by Tom Baker. The album, along with THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN's paraphernalia, awaits you here (TDEP store), as well as on iTunes, Google Play and on Amazon MP3. The fifth full-length album from the New Jersey-based act sold around 15,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position number 25 on The Billboard Top 200. Scroll down to be ambushed by THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN in full:
“ …while there are still plenty of time signature and genre changes scattered around the album, they end up feeling more like spontaneous fits of aggression than intellectual exercises. This shift toward playing to the listener's gut rather than head gives THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN a newfound level of accessibility without diminishing the impact of their punishing sound, and though it might seem like they’re smoothing out the edges of their sound and turning their swords into plowshares, the reality is that they’ve just turned it into a different kind of weapon, proving themselves once again to not only be one of the most innovative metal bands of the last decade or so, but a band that seems truly capable of doing anything,” [commented Gregory Heaney, AllMusic – more here]

“The depth of extremity and mental challenge presented by their music virtually defies description, at once recalling the mind-wandering spirit of the MAHAVISHNU ORCHESTRA [American jazz fusion group], the complex heavy metal of latter-day DEATH, CYNIC's solitary death metal achievement, and the progressive hard rock of RUSH. Their performances bring to mind the anarchic charge of early GUNS N' ROSES shows, and the sophistication that drives their craft should awe fans of classy art rock bands like RADIOHEAD,” [Ryan Downey, AllMusic, on THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN – read the rest here]
The fearless band, loved for their visceral live performances, was founded in 1997 in New Jersey. Their name inspired by bank robber John Dillinger's multiple successful escapes from the arm of law, THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN appropriately quickly gained notoriety/popularity on the account of their often violent performances. Through Relapse Records, they first released a 3-song EP in 1998, ‘Under The Running Board’, followed by the debut album ‘Calculating Infinity’ in 1999, considered a blueprint for the emerging mathcore genre and, according to Kerrang!, one of the “100 Best Rock Albums of All Time”. Next, TDEP, recorded 2002's ‘Irony Is A Dead Scene’ EP with guest vocalist the Mike Patton, who temporarily filled the void left by founding member vocalist Dimitri Minakakis.The first album to feature by now legendary frontman Greg Puciato (“his hulking physical presence and spot-on screaming won over fans” observed Ryan Downey, AllMusic) was 2004's ‘Miss Machine’ which entered the Billboard Top 200 at number 106:
“That’s it, screwheads. It’s over. Pack up your trunks, deconstruct the drum kit, and hightail it back to Athens, 'cause THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN just handed you your ass. Again.” [See? They manage to bring forth this sort of hysteria in otherwise perfectly normal people.] … “In the near future, rich women and fuddy-duddies will consider ‘Miss Machine’ through opera glasses as sweaty children lash each other with cat-o'-nine-tails. There’s nothing more to say - the next true image of rock & roll has crawled out of the swamps of Jersey,” [wrote Johnny Loftus, AllMusic – more here]
Their first album recorded without founding drummer Chris Pennie was 2007's ‘Ire Works’, debuting at number 142 on the Billboard Top 200. ‘Ire Works’, which sold around 11,000 copies by the end of its first week, was described as “inaccessible and terrifying all at once” and “a true standout” by Jason Lymangrover, AllMusic (more here). Having fulfilled their contract with Relapse Records, the band released their fourth longplayer through their own Party Smasher Inc. in collaboration with Season Of Mist. ‘Option Paralysis’ featured new drummer Billy Rymer who replaced Gil Sharone. Its concept inspired by modern insecurities (“Computers, iPhones, TV, media… nobody really knows what’s important anymore. Technology has become a substitute for actually living and experiencing things. That’s scary... It’s like a cultural depression,” said Ben Weinman, guitarist, TDEP founder and the only remaining original member), ‘Option Paralysis’ debuted at number 78 on the Billboard Top 200.
THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN features: Greg Puciato – vocals, Ben Weinman – guitar, Liam Wilson - bass and Billy Rymer – drums


No comments:

Post a Comment