09 April, 2012

Jeff Loomis: Plains Of Oblivion – new album


New solo album by one of the most influential guitarists around, JEFF LOOMIS, is out now, April 9th, 2012 through Century Media Records. Entitled ‘Plains Of Oblivion’, the album was produced and mixed by Aaron Smith and mastered by Jens Bogren. For the album, Loomis has enlisted a group of exceptional guest musicians, including vocalists Ihsahn (EMPEROR) and Christine Rhoades, guitarists Marty Friedman (MEGADETH, CACOPHONY), Tony MacAlpine (Steve Vai, PLANET X), and Attila Vörös (NEVERMORE), and drummer Dirk Verbeuren (SOILWORK, SCARVE). ‘Plains Of Oblivion’ features bassist Shane Lentz (an impressive new talent Loomis discovered through videos Lentz had uploaded onto YouTube). The album's artwork was created by Colin Marks.

“The ten-track ‘Plains Of Oblivion’ is a wholly diverse work that finds Loomis pushing his abilities to new heights that even his most ardent admirers could never have predicted. From the unrelenting, pulsating aural skydive that is ‘Mercurial’, to the soaring, anthemic arena rock of ‘Chosen Time’ from the groovy, dreamy ‘Continuum Drift’ to the predatory, raw ‘Surrender’ from the melancholic, aching, acoustic ‘Rapture’ to the chunky, heavy-as-bricks ‘Sibylline Origin’ – no two tracks are alike on ‘Plains Of Oblivion’, and Loomis never settles for the same old same old. ‘Plains Of Oblivion’ is his most personal expression of his creative vision yet. The metal world will never be the same,” [solidifies the press release:]

JEFF LOOMIS: Surrender (featuring IHSAHN) – courtesy of Century Media Records

Jeff Loomis auditioned for lead guitar player for the legendary MEGADETH at the age of sixteen. Deemed too young for the part by Dave Mustaine, he was nevertheless impressed with Loomis and he brought the guitarist to the attention of SANCTUARY, who were themselves looking for a new six stringer. When SANCTUARY disbanded a couple of years later, Loomis teamed up with his bandmates Warrel Dane and Jim Shepard and formed NEVERMORE. In 2008, Jeff Loomis released his debut solo album ‘Zero Order Phase’:

“One shouldn’t expect to see ‘Zero Order Phase’, or any of its songs, rising up the pop charts, but they will surely find instant acceptance among shred aficionados and convert many new fans for the formidable seven-string stylist before its ten songs are through,” [commented the release Eduardo Rivadavia, AllMusic – more here]

JEFF LOOMIS: Jato Unit – courtesy of Century Media Records

JEFF LOOMIS: Miles Of Machines – courtesy of Century Media Records

No comments:

Post a Comment