23 January, 2013

Dying Fetus: Second Skin – new video & Reign Supreme – full album stream

‘Second Skin’, its video directed by Jakob Arevarn, comes off DYING FETUS' latest album ‘Reign Supreme’, which upon its release reigned supreme in the United States, selling around 3,000 copies in its first week and debuted at position number 186 on the Billboard Top 200 chart. DYING FETUS' seventh album was recorded at Wright Way Studios in Baltimore with producer Steve Wright and was released in June 2012 on Relapse Records. Shop here (Relapse Records' store):
“The technical death metal stalwarts are once again in fine form as they deliver rapid-fire riffs and impossibly fast double kick drumming, filling their songs with a crawling, nervous energy that grabs ahold of the listener's spine and refuses to let go. This gives ‘Reign Supreme’ a relentless quality that makes the album both an exhausting and exhilarating listen as it attacks again and again over the course of its 33-minute running time, leaving the listener to either emerge victorious from the musical onslaught or be completely overrun by DYING FETUS' murderous, gibbering creation (but in a good way),” [commented Gregory Heaney, AllMusic – more here:]

Founded in 1991 in Upper Marlboro, Maryland by guitarist and vocalist John Gallagher and bassist Jason Netherton joined by drummer Rob Belton and guitarist Brian Latta, DYING FETUS released a collection of their early demos entitled ‘Infatuation With Malevolence’ in 1995, followed by their debut album, ‘Purification Through Violence’ in 1996 on Pulverized Records. By the time Kevin Talley became DYING FETUS' permanent drummer in 1997, the band was spotted by German label Morbid Records, which issued their sophomore full-length, 1998's ‘Killing On Adrenaline’. The album was reissued in 2011 by Relapse Records:
“The sound on this reissue is as clean as a death metal album from 1998 can possibly sound, with the guitars a buzzing roar, the bass barely present, and the drums a lightning-fast rattle in the back,” has mused AllMusic's Phil Freeman (more here).
2000 was a busy year for DYING FETUS: they released an EP titled ‘Grotesque Impalement’ through their own label Blunt Force Records, they inked a deal with Relapse Records, and they recorded their third album, ‘Destroy The Opposition’, which you can listen to in full via player available below or here (BandCamp) and buy here (BandCamp) or here (Relapse):

What had happened next was so dramatic it deserves a quote:
“…but trouble was just around the corner,” [writes Eduardo Rivadavia, AllMusic] “Midway through 2001, Gallagher was handed resignation letters from the other members of the group, who proceeded to join forces in a new project called MISERY INDEX, and thus left the future of DYING FETUS very much in doubt,” [find more drama here]
No quitter though, Gallagher assembled new vocalist Vince Matthews, guitarist Mike Kimball, bassist Sean Beasley and drummer Eric Seyanga with whom he recorded 2003's ‘Stop At Nothing’. Again, due to that fine label Relapse Records, listen to the album, described as “an admirable display of effortless resurrection” by Eduardo Rivadavia, AllMusic, below or here (BandCamp):

2007's ‘War Of Attrition’ featured John Gallagher on guitar and vocals, Sean Beasley on bass and vocals, guitarist Mike Kimball and newcomer, drummer Duane Timlin. Listen to DYING FETUS' fifth album, “loaded front to back with growled vocals, indecipherable lyrics (but it’s a safe bet that they’re quite grisly), metronome-precise drumming, and non-stop thrash riffing” courtesy Greg Prato, AllMusic (more here), below or here (BandCamp):

Prior to the release of 2009's ‘Descend Into Depravity’, drummer Timlin has been let go by the band and guitarist Kimball has left on his own accord. Yet, the indestructible duo of Gallagher and Beasley bravely marched into Wright Way Studios with yet another new drummer, Trey Williams. Listen to DYING FETUS “pummeling and pounding their signature-style brutality into the worldwide landscape with the subtlety of full-fledged war” below or here (BandCamp), courtesy Relapse Records:

DYING FETUS features: John Gallagher – guitar and vocals, Sean Beasley – bass and vocals and Trey Williams - drums


No comments:

Post a Comment